Invited speakers

Professor Donald F. Hunt joined the faculty at the University of Virginia as an assistant professor in September,1968 and currently holds the rank of University Professor with appointments in both Chemistry and Pathology.

In 1992 he was named Virginia's Outstanding Scientist and also received the Pehr Edman Award for outstanding achievements in the application of mass spectrometry to the contemporary microsequence analysis of proteins.

The Distinguished Contribution Award from the American Society for Mass Spectrometry was presented to Dr. Hunt in 1994 for his development of electron capture negative ion mass spectrometry. In 1996 he was the first recipient of the Christian B. Anfinsen Award from the Protein Society for development of new technology in the field of protein chemistry.

He received the Chemical Instrumentation Award sponsored by the American Chemical Society in 1997. This award recognizes Professor Hunt for development of instrumentation capable of sequencing peptides and proteins at the attomole level. In 2000, Professor Hunt was the recipient of both the Frank F. Field and Joe L. Franklin award presented by the American Chemical Society for outstanding achievement in the field of mass spectrometry and the Thomson Medal from the International Mass Spectrometry Society. In 2006 and 2007, Professor Hunt was the recipient of Distinguished Accomplishment Awards from the Human Proteome Organization (HUPO) and ABRF, respectively. He received the Distinguished Scientist Award at the University of Virginia in 2010. Professor Hunt is a co-inventor on more than 25 patents and patent applications, and has over 360 scholarly publications to his credit. His h-index is 84 (84 papers with 84 or more citations). This ranks him among the top 120 living chemists.

Title of the talk:

“Applications of Front End Electron Transfer Dissociation (FETD) and IPT (Ion-Ion Proton Transfer)/FETD on Orbitrap Instruments: Innovative Technology For The Identification Of Post-Translational Modifications”.